CFP iSES 2018 « Home Page of Dr. Himanshu Thapliyal

CFP iSES 2018

CALL FOR  PAPERS: IEEE iSES 2018 – DEADLINE: July 20, 2018


December 17-19, 2018, Hyderabad, India

(Formerly IEEE International Symposium on Nanoelectronic and Information Systems (iNIS))


The primary objective of IEEE-iSES 2018 is to provide a platform for both hardware and software researchers to interact under one umbrella for further development of smart electronic systems. Efficient and secure data sensing, storage, and processing play pivotal roles in current information age. The state-of-the-art smart electronic systems cater to the needs of efficient sensing, storage, and computing. At the same time, efficient algorithms and software used for faster analysis and retrieval of desired information are becoming increasingly important. Big data which are large, complex data sets, are now a part of the Internet world. Storing and processing needs of the enormous amount of structured and unstructured data are getting increasingly challenging. At the same time, Internet of Things (IoT) and cyber-physical systems (CPS) have been evolving with simultaneous development of hardware and software and span across everyday consumer electronics. The performance and efficiency of the present as well as the future generations of computing and information processing systems are largely dependent upon advances in both hardware and software.

iSES 2018 is sponsored by IEEE-CS under TCVLSI. iSES has been initiated as a sponsored meeting of Technical Committee on VLSI, IEEE-CS ( that endorses a league of successful meetings such as ASAP, ISVLSI, ARITH, etc., which are now presented as “Sister Conferences” in the iSES website. iSES brings together leading scientists and researchers from academia and industry.

Contributions are sought in (but are not limited to) the following areas:

(1) Nanoelectronic VLSI and Sensor Systems (NVS)

(2) Energy-Efficient, Reliable VLSI Systems (ERS)

(3) Hardware/Software for Internet of Things (IOT) and Consumer Electronics (CE)

(4) Hardware for Secure Information Processing (SIP)

(5) Hardware/Software Solutions for Big Data (SBD)

(6) Cyber Physical Systems and Social Networks (CSN)

Detailed description of the tracks is provided in the iSES website.

iSES 2018 proceedings will be published by IEEE-CS conference publication services (CPS). Authors are invited to submit full-length (6 pages maximum), original, unpublished research papers with an abstract (200 words maximum). Papers violating length would be excluded from the review process. Previously published papers or papers currently under review for other conferences/journals should not be submitted and will not be considered for publication. Authors should submit their original work of maximum 6 pages using double-column IEEE-CS conference format-template ( A selected papers from iSES 2018 program will be invited for submission to a peer-reviewed journal special issue based on reviewer feedback and quality of conference presentation.

Paper Submission Site:


Important dates of iSES2018 are the following:

Submission Deadline: July 20, 2018

Acceptance Notification: September 15, 2018

Submission of Final Version: October 10, 2018

Special Sessions and Panels (SSP): iSES 2018 will consider proposals for special sessions as well as panels. Special session and panel proposals/papers can be submitted to “Special Sessions and Panels” track at the online submission link. The submission deadline is the same as specified for the regular paper submissions. All accepted special session papers will be published in the conference proceedings.

Student Research Forum (SRF): iSES 2018 will host a student research forum. Authors should submit their original unpublished work of maximum 4 pages using IEEE-CS double-column conference format-template. Manuscripts in PDF format with author information (optional) should be submitted to the “Student Research Forum” track at the online submission link. The submission deadline is the same as specified for the regular paper submissions. All the accepted student research symposium papers will be published in the conference proceedings.

Award Information: 3 student travel awards of $250 each for travel to iSES 2018. In addition, $150 for the best paper award. Following is the summary:

(1) 6 TCVLSI Student Travel Awards ($100 each)

(2) 3 TCVLSI Best Paper Awards ($100 each)



General Chairs:

M.B Srinivas, BML Munjal University, India

Sudeep Pasricha, Colorado State University, USA


Program Chairs:

Himanshu Thapliyal, University of Kentucky, USA

Marina Gavrilova, University of Calgary, Canada

P.V. Anand Mohan, CDAC, India


Publication Chair:

Karthikeyan Lingasubramanian, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

Saurabh Kotiyal, Synopsys, Inc., USA


Web Chair:

Dhruva Ghai, Oriental University, India


Publicity Chairs:

Wei Zhang, HKUST, Hong Kong

Kamalakanta Mahapatra, NIT Rourkela, India

Neha Yadav, BML Munjal University, India

Brij Gupta, NIT Kurukshetra, India

Alak Majumdar, NIT Arunachal Pradesh, India


Local Arrangement Chair:

Dibakar RoyChowdary, Mahindra Ecole, India

Special Session Chairs:

Saket Srivastava, University of Lincoln, UK

Anirban Sengupta, IIT Indore, India

K. Subbarangaiah, Veda IIT, India


Student Research Forum Chairs:

Binsu Kailath, IIITDM Kancheepuram, India

V S Kanchana Bhaaskaran, VIT University, India

Manish Goswami, IIIT Allahabad, India


Finance Chair:

Bhargav Rajaram, Mahindra Ecole, India

Registration Chair:

Dibakar RoyChowdary, Mahindra Ecole, India


Industry Liaison Chair:

Rajnish Bajpai, Synopsys, Inc., USA

Aditya Ramamurthy, Service Now, India

Himabindu, Wipro, India


Track Chairs


NVS Track Chairs:

Aida Todri-Sanial, CNRS-LIRMM/University of Montpellier, France

Maryam Shojaei Baghini, IIT Bombay, India


IoT Track Chairs:

GarrettRose, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA

Linga Reddy, University of Agder, Norway


SIP Track Chairs:

NaghmehKarimi, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA

Ujjwal Guin, Auburn University, USA


ERS Track Chairs:

Sujay Deb, IIIT Delhi, India

Saravanan Sethuraman, IBM Bangalore, India

Diyanesh Chinnakonda, IBM Bangalore, India


SBD Track Chairs:

Devesh Tiwari, Northeastern University, USA

Deepak Puthal, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia


CSN Track Chairs:

Danda Rawat, Howard University, USA

Theocharis Theocharides, The University of Cyprus, Cyprus


Steering Committee:


Saraju P. Mohanty, University of North Texas, USA, Chair

Dhruva Ghai, Oriental University, India, Vice Chair

Aida Todri-Sanial, CNRS-LIRMM, France

Anirban Sengupta, IIT Indore, India

Ashok Srivastava, Louisiana State University, USA

Hai (Helen) Li, Duke University, USA

Himanshu Thapliyal, University of Kentucky, USA

Jia Di, University of Arkansas, USA

Nabanita Das, Indian Statistical Institute, India

Prasun Ghosal, IIEST, Shibpur, India

Sudeep Pasricha, Colorado State University, USA

Xin Li, Duke University, USA